A Millennial's Mind

There's a lot of stuff in here

I don’t understand why the dark is so bad…

Okay, I understand why it might be scary for younger kids, because they don’t know what’s in the dark, and what they don’t know scares them. That’s how they grow up to become adults, because if they’re scared and/or cautious of something they don’t know or don’t understand, it’s less likely to be able to kill them. So kudos little ones!

But with older kids, teenagers and adults, that understand that so long as your wardrobe door is shut, nothing can come out and hurt you, why is the dark so bad?

It’s unknown…

The dark is an exciting place! There’s so much that is unknown, doesn’t that excite you? I will happily walk about in the middle of the night, it’s amazing. Aren’t you interested to see what could be out there in the dark? Like the nocturnal animals? Oh and an urban environment in the dark is a stunning sight. The night sky is beautiful too, away from the light pollution of cities. Who is going to argue with me about this being a beautiful picture?

......ows_138809003453231(Source: http://www.startribune.com/brian-peterson-how-to-photograph-the-night-sky/237332541/)

Nobody. That’s who. And if someone would like to argue with me about it, I’d like to see them come up with a compelling argument as to why I’m wrong, I’m genuinely interested to hear it.

Don’t you just want to walk around at night and just have nobody around, no cars (Or depending where you live, fewer cars), nobody shouting or screaming, it can just be you and your thoughts? It’s honestly one of the best experiences ever, for me personally anyway. I would highly recommend it.

Okay, so there are dangers…

There are obviously dangers with the dark, it’s remarkably easy to break your leg while out walking in the dark, or to get lost. Getting lost is potentially one of the worst as even with the most strongest of minds, if you’re lost, in the dark, panic will quickly set in. That will also make breaking your leg somewhat easier, and more likely to happen. If that’s your goal then by all means! Go and get lost, but I didn’t tell you to do it.

If you’re going to go out in the dark, just make sure you have a light of some description, you don’t have to use it, but just have one with you (The torch on your phone I find is more than adequate), also a phone, that’s not dead, just in case it goes pear-shaped. If you’re just out sitting and enjoying the view of the night sky, then you’ll likely be perfectly safe, but if you’re walking that’s when I find problems can arise, via injury, for instance.

For me…

For me, someone who’s not too fond of people. Don’t get me wrong, some people I think are absolutely amazing, some of my friends are, in my opinion, better than anyone you know. One of my friends built a friendship with a moth, and if you don’t think that’s cool then you are lacking some imagination. You can read a little about the moth, he was called Phil, on her blog actually – wordsunplugged.wordpress.com. But generally? People aren’t for me, I find it hard to get on with them. I think I enjoy my own company far too much (Oh man, I’m going to be so alone, but that’s cool, I’m cool).

I went off on a little bit of a tangent there, my apologies, yes, for me the dark is the most excellent of places. There’s nobody about, and I can just sit and enjoy the nothingness that might be around me, it is a peaceful place for me. Sometimes I think back to when I was younger, and wonder why I didn’t enjoy the dark as much. Damn kid, you were missing out!

There is so much wonder I find in what you can observe in the dark. Foxes foraging for food, for instance, left overs that humans just threw out. To look up at the night sky and, more often than not, remind myself of this quote from Douglas Adams:

“The story so far:
In the beginning the Universe was created.
This has made a lot of people very angry and been widely regarded as a bad move.”

After having reminded myself of that genius, from Douglas Adams (R.I.P), I then try to imagine what’s out there! What if there really is a restaurant at the end of the universe? What if the nearest planet to harbour life is only in the next star system? Imagine it being so close? Just 4.37 light years away! I’m aware that a light year is 9.461×1012 km, but astronomically that is like from your house to the village shop, it’s hardly anything. I want an alien friend. I’d call him Small Stevey, regardless of his size relative to mine, he’ll be Small Stevey.

It’s not for everyone I suppose

I know it’s not for everyone, I’m not stupid enough to try and get you all to believe that the dark is the best thing since sliced bread. I do find it hard sometimes to understand why some people find it to be such a bad thing.

I still stand by what I said earlier, nobody can say that the night sky isn’t a beautiful sight. I’d love to be good enough with a camera to take such great shots, unfortunately I don’t actually have the time or the money right now to be pursuing that hobby. I’d never make a living out of it, that’s for sure. I have to get my A-levels done first before I can do anything else. One day maybe.

It is currently 01:20, and so I am going to head off to maybe go to bed, I don’t know that’s not really working out for me. Maybe I’ll watch a film. Interstellar seems appropriate after this.

I’ve thoroughly enjoyed writing this too. Bonus.

Leave a Reply

